Faculty and Staff Members, Alumni, and Students Receive Awards

We proudly recognize faculty, staff, students and alumni who garnered major honors, awards and promotions since our December newsletter.

Faculty & Staff

Philip DeShong, Charles L. Gordon Memorial Award for Service from the Chemical Society of Washington
Elizabeth Griffith, Thelma M. Williams Advisor of the Year Award
Christopher Jarzynski, U.S. National Academy of Sciences Member, Simons Fellow, Guggenheim Fellow
Sang Bok Lee, U.S.-Israel BIRD Energy Center Awardee
Amy Mullin, Chair-Elect of the American Physical Society’s Division of Chemical Physics
Gareg Papoian, Visiting Merton Fellow, Oxford University (U.K.)
Paul Paukstelis, UMD Graduate School 2020 Mentor of the Year Award
Myles Poulin, NSF CAREER Award
Efrain Rodriguez, Humboldt Fellow
Lai-Xi Wang, CMNS Dean’s Award for Teaching Excellence

Graduate Students

Sam Choi, Glen E. Gordon Memorial Award
Sandra Gutierrez, William Bailey Fellowship
Hakeem Henry, Ann G. Wylie Dissertation Fellowship
Jie Li, Guiochon Travel Award
Kätchen Lachmayr, Michael J. Pelczar Award for Excellence in Graduate Study, Ann G. Wylie Dissertation Fellowship, Graduate School Summer Research Fellowship
Emily Luteran, Graduate School Summer Research Fellowship
Steven Murkli, Ann G. Wylie Dissertation Fellowship
Lukasz Olenginski, Graduate School Summer Research Fellowship
Alexandra Peterson, William Bailey Fellowship
Mary Pitman, National Cancer Institute CCR Outstanding 2020 Ph.D. student award
Erika Portero, Graduate School Outstanding Graduate Assistant Award
Sunaina Kiran Prabhu, Drs. Wayne T. & Mary T. Hockmeyer Endowed Fellowship
Haoran Qu, Richard C. Capozza Graduate Student Award in Chemistry
Madeline Rotella, Millard & Lee Alexander Fellowship in Chemistry
Daniel Trettel, Jenny T. Sih Endowed Memorial Fellowship
Mark Wallace, Gary & Sue Christian Graduate Award
Hongpeng Wang, Drs. Wayne T. & Mary T. Hockmeyer Endowed Fellowship
Shaochi Wang, Richard C. Capozza Graduate Student Award in Chemistry
Mingbin Yuan, Graduate Student Summer Research Fellowship

Undergraduate Students

Pavan Ravindra, 2020 Goldwater Scholar
More awards to be announced on Commencement Day!


Michael Boyle (B.S. ’86, biochemistry) was appointed president and CEO of the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation
Deiaa Harraz (B.S. ’18, chemistry; B.S. ’18, chemical engineering) received an NSF Graduate Research Fellowship
Aydin Harston (B.S. ’03, Ph.D. ’07, biochemistry) was named partner at Rothwell, Figg, IP
Brian Malkin (B.S. ’04, biochemistry) is the new chair of the Food, Drug and Cosmetic Law Section of the New York Bar Association
Willie May (Ph.D. ’77, chemistry), Morgan State’s vice president for the Division of Research and Economic Development, was named a 2019 Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science
Henry Nipper (Ph.D. ’71, chemistry) retired after 33 years on the faculty at Creighton University
Michael Severino (B.S. ’87, biochemistry) was appointed to the Avantor, Inc. Board of Directors
Lenea Stocker (Ph.D. ’13, chemistry) was promoted to Senior Lecturer in Chemistry and Biochemistry at UMD