Faculty and Staff Members, Alumni, and Students Receive Awards

We proudly recognize faculty, staff, students and alumni who garnered major honors, awards and promotions since our December newsletter.


  • Leah Dodson, Faculty-Student Research Award, University of Maryland
  • John Fourkas, Senior Member, SPIE
  • Osvaldo Gutierrez, Talented Twelve, Chemical & Engineering News
  • George Helz, Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science
  • Nikolaos Liaros, Cottrell Fellow
  • Efrain Rodriguez, Humboldt Fellow
  • Chunsheng Wang, Highly Cited Researcher and one of the “10 Lithium-ion Battery Researchers to Watch” by Research Interfaces


  • Rita Dill, Dolphus E. Milligan Fellow
  • Pavan Ravindra, Philip Merrill Presidential Scholar


  • Michael Bogdan (B.S. ’93, chemistry; B.S. ’93, zoology) was elected vice president of the Aesthetic Surgery Education and Research Foundation.
  • Jennifer Buss (Ph.D. ’12, biochemistry) was promoted to CEO of the Potomac Institute for Policy Studies.
  • Fehmi Damkaci (M.S. ‘00, Ph.D. ‘04, chemistry) earns SUNY Oswego President’s Award for Scholarly and Creative Activity.
  • Teri Quinn Gray (Ph.D. ’94, chemistry), was elected to the American Chemical Society’s Board of Directors.
  • Brian Malkin (B.S. ‘04, biochemistry) joined health law firm McDermott Will & Emery as partner in the FDA practice of its Health Industry Advisory group based in Washington, D.C.
  • Biopharmaceutical company AbbVie and its president, Michael Severino (B.S. ’97, biochemistry), launched a $30 million research alliance with Harvard Medical School to combat viral infections.
  • Samuel Teitelbaum (B.S. ’10, chemistry) is now an assistant professor of physics at Arizona State University.
  • Krisztina Zsebo (B.S. ’77, biochemistry), CEO and co-founder of VasoRx, joined the Biocardia, Inc. board of directors.